Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

The Virginia Tech Department of Chemistry has a rich history, a strong international reputation, and a bright future. Our curricula provide the educational foundation for all Virginia Tech science and engineering students. Our undergraduate and graduate degree programs prepare society's future scientists. Our alumni are gainfully employed in the industrial, government, and academic sectors.  

Claudia Brodkin Earns Diversity Ally Certification

    Claudia Brodkin receives Diversity Award

(October 10, 2014) Claudia P. Brodkin, Chemistry's Undergraduate Lab Coordinator, took the first step in becoming a Diversity Ambassador by earning recognition as a Diversity Ally.  The Diversity Development Institute's certificate program provides a curricular path for anyone in the VT community who wants to develop competency in diversity and inclusion in course content and/or practice.  Claudia also serves the department in her role as a member of the Hispanic Caucus Steering Committee, as a district counselor for Alpha Chi Sigma (the national professional chemistry fraternity), and as an active advocate for the diversity of women in science.  

Webster Santos Receives VT Innovators Award

    Webster Santos
(Oct. 9, 2014) Prof. Webster Santos was recently selected as one of four recipients of a $25,000 Innovators Award, jointly sponsored by the Fralin Life Science Institute and  the Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science. The award is given to highly successful, collaborative faculty that have demonstrated the ability to focus their innovative talents toward meeting some of society’s greatest challenges. The program aims to enable faculty to innovate and start new research initiatives and collaborations in their laboratories. Congratulations Prof. Santos!

Webster Santos named Cliff and Agnes Lilly Faculty Fellow

    Webster Santos
(Sept. 29, 2014) Prof. Webster Santos has been named the Cliff and Agnes Lilly Faculty Fellow by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors. The Lilly Fellowship appointment is for three years. A member of the Virginia Tech faculty since 2006, Santos is an internationally recognized expert in drug discovery and drug development. His research, which focuses on the development of new drugs for cancer therapy, has implications for patients with three common cancers: breast, ovarian, and prostate. (read more...)

CHEM Welcomes Guoliang (Greg) Liu

    Greg Liu
(Sept. 15, 2014) The Department of Chemistry warmly welcomes its newest faculty member, Assistant Professor Guoliang (Greg) Liu. Greg earned his B.S. in Chemical Engineering at Zhejiang University (P.R. China), Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at Wisconsin (working with Prof. Paul Nealy), and was a postdoc at Northwestern with Prof. Chad Mirkin.  Greg’s research interests are in nanoscience, and his goal is to use inorganic nanoparticles in polymer matrices to create novel nanocomposite materials. It is envisioned that these nanocompsites will have unique properties and find application in the area of renewable energy, chemical catalysis, etc. (more on Prof. Liu)

Elements Newsletter Spring 2014

The Spring 2014 issue of Elements is available here!

Highlands in Chemistry Seminars

Fridays, 2:30 PM, 140 Hahn North

October 24

October 31
Charles H. Winter
Wayne State University

The complete Fall 2014 Highlands in Chemistry seminar schedule is available here.  

Rededication of Davidson Hall!

We need your input!
Please complete the survey